Grading systems

There are five grading systems at the University of Gothenburg. The course syllabus will specify which grading scale applies for each course.

Nomenclature for grading scales in Swedish and English

  • Two-scale grading system:
    U Underkänd/Fail, G Godkänd/Pass
  • Three-scale grading system:
    U Underkänd/Fail, G Godkänd/Pass, VG Väl godkänd/Pass with Distinction
  • Four-scale grading system:
    U Underkänd/Fail, B Godkänd/Pass, Ba Icke utan beröm godkänd/Pass with Credit, AB Med beröm godkänd/Pass with Distinction
  • Four-scale grading system:
    U Underkänd/Fail, 3 Godkänd/Pass, 4 Väl godkänd/Pass with Credit, 5 Mycket väl godkänd/Pass with Distinction
  • Six-scale grading system:
    A Utmärkt/Excellent, B Mycket bra/Very Good, C Bra/Good, D Tillfredsställande/Satisfactory, E Tillräcklig/Sufficient, F Underkänd/Fail

A grading scale may be specified in a footnote on the printout of the transcript of records or course certificate.

Who decides on grading systems?

The Vice-Chancellor determines the various grading systems used at the University of Gothenburg following a proposal from the Faculty Board. Heads of department decide which grading system is to apply to each course.

Reporting of grading statistics

The reporting of grading statistics means that a breakdown of pass grades is specified for each grading scale for each course completed. Each higher education institution sets grades in accordance with its local grading scale and can include grading statistics in a transcript of record. The table can be compared with the breakdown of grades for corresponding courses at another higher education institution to thereby enable comparability without having to make recourse to a different grading scale.

Grading statistics can only be reported for courses that have been running for two years. Students can have grading statistics included on their transcript of records for courses with results for at least two years if they make such a request.

No average grade

No average grades are provided for higher education qualifications.